Showing posts with label The Patriot. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Patriot. Show all posts

Monday, May 10, 2010

Got into a little facebook tussle + rant

Pretty common for me to pick fights on the internet =(

Protip: don't fight on facebook. It can be nearly as bad as having sex with the other guy in public.

I don't really have anything against the YOG, honest. I don't have too much interest in the politics at the moment, because my own life is a sinking ship. But once in a while I can't resist playing devil's advocate. The perverseness of going against the flow... it gets me hard!

So anyway I don't know either of these people, or indeed many people at all on FB, so I decide what the hell I'll just go bomb something off the top of my head. I thought the miss Tan up was just making a throwaway comment like me, but nooooo, she starts naming names. Everybody in Singapore knows that one person is just a dangerous detractor, but two people is a mob and you should call the police so they can bring in the riot vans and tear gas.

Anyway yeah, small beans, wouldn't even call it mudslinging (though I probably sound harsh for a Singaporean). The surprise is when I realize that Estell IS ON MY FRIENDS LIST LOL WAT. I keep a fairly tight friends list and never add anyone I don't know, and I have never known anyone by this name. I check the profile, and it's my junior in Mass Communication. She changed her name to this weird thing.

*headslap* Of course. It's the goddamn internet.

I guess it looks like I've lost another of my precious few media contacts, not to mention one of links back to my old life in secondary school and the Drama Club. I shall strive to be less snide on Facebook. *sigh* Miss Tan there added me as a friend though, lol. She appears to be a 20+ politically-minded girl, judging from her profile. I was hoping she'd be younger, hehehe.

Rant time. Why are Singaporeans so adverse to passionate debate and argument? It gets on my tits how many people keep interjecting variations of "OMG I HAZ MY OWN OPINION OKEY" and "agree 2 disagree can???" Those phrases have nothing inherently wrong about them - when an argument persists as a stalemate, you can talk about common ground and difference of opinion to bring things back to earth. But it has been feeling to me for a very long time that too many Singaporeans spam these lines at the first sign of tension, throwing a blanket on the debate the moment things get interesting.

Singaporeans like us loooooove the status quo. It terrifies us that our opinions may be OMG WRONG, it terrifies us that because Person A has different values from Person B, a fight might break out OMG! Or they won't be friends anymore. No, we just want everyone to keep quiet except when they're agreeing with each other. After all, we wouldn't want a repeat of the racial riots from 1962 now would we?

We're so fucking pampered, not just in the material sense, but in the social sense. In May last year or the year before, a Singaporean teacher went to lecture at New York. There, she taught that homosexuality was bad, which made the liberals there flare up and start up a little campaign against her. Did she stand up for what she believed in? Fuck no. She turned tail and ran for home. I'm pro-gay marriage myself, but that's not the point. The point is that Singaporeans shit their pants at the first sign of conflict, they either run away spouting "BUT IT JUZ MAI OPINON", or they get really defensive (see LKY's lawsuits).

It's probably the reason Singaporeans venture little into the international stage beyond business. One of the few reasons I would not migrate west is because I'm pretty sure I'm mollycoddled too. Wouldn't fit in.

Monday, August 10, 2009

09/08/09

Yea. It is that time of the Year again. Or was, since it is now the 10th of August. National Day, a time of near communist/socialist festivities, where the nation gets together to celebrate our 44th year of Independence this year, or Inter-dependence if you really think about it.
To me, this year's National Day Parade (NDP) is exceptionally special. Besides the stronger emphasis on the National Pledge this year, written by the late S. Rajaratnam (25 February 1915 – 22 February 2006), I also like how the planned the Parade, such as having the Ministers walking in past the audience, instead of having them always entering on a red carpet from their little enclosure, as well as having the MM, SM and PM come in. They deserve some spotlight, yea? Of course, this year's NDP also saw quite a departure from previous years', making it probably the best so far, and possibly the most "modern" too.
Truth be told, I can tell you so much about the Parade because I'm catching the encore telecast now. I spent yesterday with my family and grandmother at East Coast Park, cycling all the way to the Park Connector connecting ECP to Changi Beach and back, and then having my grandmother recount how my late grandfather and her used to come to ECP and how then the horizon was clear of all those ships and stuff, and how my grandfather would walk all the way to Bedok Jetty, and my grandmother became very worried because she couldn't see him. Of course, I admit I missed the Pledge moment, but I was eating, and it would be so darned awkward to be the only one doing it in a restaurant, right?
Well, to make up for my missing the Pledge moment yesterday, here goes:

We, the citizens of Singapore
pledge ourselves as one united people,
regardless of race, language or religion,
to build a democratic society,
based on justice and equality,
so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and
progress for our nation.

Yes, it really is that time of the year, whereby I truly feel most proud to be a Singaporean

Monday, January 26, 2009

Lets burn another... nevermind

Recently, the bus lane hype has got to me with my father constantly mentioning how the bus lane when placed at a three lane road creates a road jam of up to 2km at Bt Timah Road and gives everyone a damn big headache. Biggest epic shit yet: there are only 5 bus services. And the price for violating these rules are heavy on the pockets.

I also thought about the recent news in Singapore of that MP who got burnt by the 70+ year old taxi driver. I think this should serve as a wake up call to our leaders that there is genuine unhappiness with law in our country. They are not directly linked; the bus lane and the old man, but point here is, these are signs that people are getting really unhappy with things going on. Most Singaporeans would just follow the law and do it because they feel it is not worth it to fight for an unjust law. Martin Luthur King Jr once said that a citizen has a moral obligation to obey just laws just as he has the moral obligation to disobey unjust laws. 

The burning of the MP didn't seem to get the message across that when people, pushed into desperation, would react in a most violent way to handle the situation. In particular, this time with the cabby; he is old, still drives taxi because he has no choice and the government is unable to help him settle for a decent life. Cabbies's life are hard, working those long hours and sometimes getting fined as well for minor stuff. Civil disobedience was Gandhi's call to the Indians. We are just too lazy to oppose and to decide if laws are just or unjust. Imagine if a few thousand of us went to oppose a law by going to parliment and asking them to arrest us because we say we can't keep the unjust law. That way, we wouldn't have broken the law itself, and would have shown peaceful civil disobedience to get our points across.

I'm not trying to instigate anything here... But I feel our country is walking down a wrong path. Full of smokescreens and deceptions and a place where red-taped beuracrats carve their careers. This thought has provoked me hard over the past few hours when I heard a few people talking about it at the coffee shop. I think our government should seriously get the message that discontent is growing and people are increasingly being pushed into desperation. They should start listening, before someone else gets burnt...

PS : think about it for a moment, maybe our society is not as perfect as they are telling us it is.

-Tofu

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Its over

John McCain lost his bid for presidency. And for an old man like him, his doesn't have any time to campagin anymore.

All who saw McCain's speech at Pheonix, Arizona would have been really encouraged. In his speech to thank his supporters and to concede defeat, he urged his supporters to rally behind their new president. He congratulated and praise Obama for his tencity and perseverance in mantaining his campagin. Admist the boos of the crowds, he continued to urge them that America has spoken and that they should all look forward to a brighter future.
It was a great speech. He was a great loser.
In his speech, he mentions that he already has the honour of serving his country for half and century, and "that is enough by itself".
"The failure is mine, not yours," was what he told his supporters.
He recognised the African-American community and mentioned he knows its a proud moment for them...

That wraps up John McCain's bid for presidency which started in earnest in 1998 or 1999.
A true patriot to his country, I will never forget some of his words in that stirring speech.
America has spoken. God bless America.

Saturday, September 6, 2008

NEW WORLD ORDER, YOU SHALL NOT PASS

Now at the top of most peoples' heads is hair, but non-literally, most people would think that having a unified world government would be good for the world and all humans who inhabit it. It may be more efficient, maybe prevent wars and manage resources and poverty better. WOW SO POWA. *plays imperial march*

.....how naive. Remember if in event a New World Government were to rise, I highly doubt it would be because we voted him in. Right so maybe we might vote him in but definitely not because we voted him. Confusing? Reichstag Fire anyone? And in the near future, the scenario for an totalitarian leader to rise is very possible. Oil crisis, war, poverty. So someones' going to sweep this up right? WRONG. We fail to forget that the mot powerful people are businessman and with all the money and resources, say bye bye to "good" politicians. With businessmen at the helm, we're all screwed. Corruption will occur internally, although highly impossible because an elitist cult would be in charge.(Illuminati, Freemasons, bilderberg group) They have all the money in the world, what they want..is power.

Yes, they want complete and utter control of the entire world. Now this is highly controversial, but apparently most of these people in the bilderberg had descendants from way back (such groups are considered secret societies) that orchestrated this great show called modern history. They bankrolled both sides during world war 1, earning a fuckload of money but their main aim was world government but of course as we all know, the league of nations was a failure. So the solution? Appease Germany, causing..you guessed it,World War 2. Now they would be successful, creating the great and powerful United Nations we know today. World leaders, part of this secret societies are everywhere. And being a cult, they do have a "religion" which I am still finding out but it involves killing lots of people.

You would think that something this big would be on all major media now. Seriously, these people are the exact same people controlling the media, not telling you what you are supposed to know. A far cry from Hitler's propaganda machine in the 30s.

Right. These people control everything, EU, IMF, UN and now pushing for NAFTA. They are not going to solve all your problems, they don't even give a damn. They are just going to make the world a better place for themselves and I mean, I'd want to rule the world too..wouldn't anyone? Countries are selling out their own sovereignty FOR THEM? Now we all know a world ruled by big corporations is bad..very bad. Your healthcare is going to suck because doctors no longer treat you..the healthcare industry does and if you watched Sicko you would know how our capitalist system is going down the drain. YOU no longer can make a drink company, COCA-COLA's gonna bankrupt you. Got a nice software company? Microsoft's going to buy you. We'd all end up working for them. And with the general public and governments under their control, BOOM! new world order. They're going to..or already have controlled every single aspect of our lives. What happens then, they launch a monopoly and screw us all so that we all beg for mercy from their ultimate divine power and then we'd all become their slaves that would so their every bidding for their new fascist system. Interstate highways are making small towns in the United State barren and dead. The world will become a system of major cities which is very easy to control "DUH" through their use of fear and the use of force (Big brother is watching...). Our freedoms and sovereignty will no longer exist, use of eugenics will create class systems meaning no-one will ever be able to challenge their rule and we all live Happily Ever After.

In the process of creating a better place, we fall victims to their great masterplan. The new world order is essentially every single conspiracy theory in one. Be it eugenics, Illuminati, IMF being total SOBs, peak oil and big brother. FIGHT THE POWER. Free ourselves from their control and learn the truth. This is not about freedom, this is about preventing some motherfucker who thinks just because his great-great-great grandfather was some bigshot British imperial elitist to come in and rule our world.




who elected him?

-PanZer

anyway...I wish Ron Paul was nominated, he wanted major reforms for healthcare and phase out the IRS and rid the inflation tax by reducing spending on US's ridiculous foreign interventionist policy. Including openly wanting to pull America out of trying to "Police the world with our so-called world governemnt" He also hinted that 9/11 was a blowback (CIA term) because of US intervention in Mid-east and how homeland sceurity kind of knew and not because "they're deamons who hate America" *wink*. Completely and intentionally overlooked by the media and the uninformed public. GREAT now we have a dumbass greenhorn going around shouting "change! change!" like a complete retard who's policies are so impractical and a muppet looking old man who would probably lead America into Iran, fight with Russia over georgia and suck Alaska dry.


He does look like Gandalf right? Watch the end where he argues with the interviewer.

He was supposed to be the next Reagan. When the marines pulled out of Lebannon, Reagan already warned us about Middle-Eastern politics did we heed his warning? No.

"If we think we can carry on policing the world and not incite hated, then we're wrong. They don't attack us because we're rich and we're free"- Ron Paul

"We gave them the gas" - Ron Paul

Stop this orchestrated theatre now and learn the truth of what the NWO is doing.

Thursday, August 21, 2008

National Asthma

I sincerely think our national anthem is too long. I mean, it does have nice AND meaningful lyrics complete with a nice melody (rare these days). But the fact is, it is written and composed by a professional. As a result, it follows the arrangement of the pop music genre, which is usually stanza 1, chorus, stanza 2, chorus, stanza 3, chorus, chorus fade out, end.
This results in us having to sing all 3+ minutes of the song. Why can't we learn from other countries, such as Britain or Germany, where the song is sung socially, and usually only a stanza is sung (usually the first) . Yea, I understand the idea behind the whole song and the singing of the whole song, but I think it really has become too tedious a ritual.
On that note, I really wish to share with you Germany's Anthem. They usually sing only the third stanza. But hey, they are patriotic as hell la.


German lyrics Approximate translation
First stanza

Deutschland, Deutschland über alles,
Über alles in der Welt,
Wenn es stets zu Schutz und Trutze
Brüderlich zusammenhält.
Von der Maas bis an die Memel,
Von der Etsch bis an den Belt,
|: Deutschland, Deutschland über alles,
Über alles in der Welt! :|

Germany, Germany above everything,
Above everything in the world,
When, for protection and defence, it always
stands together as brothers.
From the Meuse to the Neman,
From the Adige to the Belt,
|: Germany, Germany above everything,
Above everything in the world. :|

Second stanza

Deutsche Frauen, deutsche Treue,
Deutscher Wein und deutscher Sang
Sollen in der Welt behalten
Ihren alten schönen Klang,
Uns zu edler Tat begeistern
Unser ganzes Leben lang.
|: Deutsche Frauen, deutsche Treue,
Deutscher Wein und deutscher Sang! :|

German women, German loyalty,
German wine and German song
Shall retain in the world
Their old beautiful Chime
And inspire us to noble deeds
During all of our life.
|: German women, German loyalty,
German wine and German song! :|

Third stanza
(Germany's National Anthem)

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit
Für das deutsche Vaterland!
Danach lasst uns alle streben
Brüderlich mit Herz und Hand!
Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit
Sind des Glückes Unterpfand;
|: Blüh' im Glanze dieses Glückes,
Blühe, deutsches Vaterland. :|

Unity and justice and freedom
For the German fatherland!
For these let us all strive
Brotherly with heart and hand!
Unity and justice and freedom
Are the pledge of fortune;
|: Flourish in this fortune's blessing,
Flourish, German fatherland. :|


Ref: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Das_Deutschlandlied
Vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C91u-j1po9o&feature=related
Enjoy.

Saturday, August 9, 2008

The locally foreign.

I wanted to post a video but i guess Beijing took a copyright claim of their opening ceremony. Well, "Singapore" paddler, Li Jia Wei was dragging the Singapore flag on the floor when Singapore marched into the Bird's nest stadium. Now not only is that a capital offence, it also sparked some anti-ah tiong sentiments and became the latest buzz in the many Singapore forums.

Then there's the argument that the flag's too heavy, thats a weak excuse. What made it worse was that New Zealand, the country after us (cos we all have the chinese character "xin") , had their flag held the highest. Anyway, it was a good opening ceremony and I wish all of them the best of luck.

But frankly this argument wouldn't have happened if they had let a real Singaporean hold it. (born and bred). Everyone would have let it go as an honest mistake.

With almost 1/5 or 1/4 of our population now foreign, this is becomming an increasingly alarmming matter. We don't need that big a population and I seriously cannot see why our government want so many people? To put more gantries? More people would only mean more mouths to feed right? I am not vehermently against foreign TALENT, those who work in MNCs. After all, they ARE MULTI-NATIONAL.

But seriously, waiters, cashiers, and even MIDDLE-CLASS OFFICE GOERS?!?! Thats talent?!

I think we are taking our multi-racial harmonious society for granted. How long did it take us to see ourselves as Singaporean? After the riots, killing and all the other shit, just to combine Malay, Chinese and Indian as Singaporean and now other Chinese, Indian and a whole lot of other people come? Then expecting to them to integrate like *click* magic? This is not lego. However, most do, and their children too and it does, like the government says, make Singapore a more vibrant, diverse nation.

But it is also normal for locals to hate people who come and take their rice bowl. Look at America, Australia, they bloddy hate foreigners, and at this rate, we may also end up like them.

P.S. I'm totally fine with foreigners converting to becomming citizens because they like Singapore and wish to be Singaporean, actually I quite like that. But I hate those who still think of going back or feel patriotic to thier homeland. Singapore is Singapore. Do you see Americans feeling patriotic to UK because the whites were from there? Or even Singaporean malays patriotic to malaysia? (except for head perfect)

-PanZerz

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

No picket signs please, im singaporean.

Ok, after the chain of light-hearted posts, I decided to do with my own. :P




A picture says a thousand words, only if you're smart enough, otherwise, seriously, don't bother.
Anyway nice pics eh? Don't know who did em but what I know is that they're from the
fantastic Uncyclopedia. Want a link? here you lazy bastards..

http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/Singapore

Anyways, while your there, check out the many articles about the various religions, yes, including flying spagetti monster, at least only if your open enough that is. Its a great laugh if your open about it.

Saturday, July 19, 2008

Let us celebrate

National Day is coming. So let us all take out our party hats, our balloons and the food. I feel so proud to be a Singaporean and to celebrate National Day.





And while we are on the issue of pride. I just want to say how much school pride I have.

my ass (:

Sunday, July 13, 2008

I will work harder

I'm honestly satisfied that I don't have to vote or chose who is going to govern my country. Like what comrade Lee says, having no opposition is a good thing. Sometimes its a good thing our parliment is not so divided. So instead of having a hundred men throwing ideas together every now and then, we have 99 saying yes to an idea and the poor more competent of the incompetent opposition guy saying no to a radical idea. Anyway, point is, we already have the most politically competent people in the government, so lets be happy with that.



We can't vote PAP out anyway, they are good for us. So young people, stop being a rebel and stop thinking its cool voting for the opposition.



This is my country, this is my flag, this is my future, this is my life, these are my family, these are my friends, we are singapore, singaporeans. :)